About me

 

I was born in Hessen, Germany, and was schooled both in Germany and England. I passed my German Abitur in 2001 (specialising in English and Chemistry) and graduated from Marburg University in 2008 with a master's degree in English Linguistics (grade 1.0).

 

During my time at Marburg I worked for the Deutscher Sprachatlas, conducting research into regional German accents and dialects. I also contributed to the "Voices" project at Leeds University.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My first forays into the field of translation and proofreading were in the engineering sector (in 2001, after my Abitur) when I helped a German engineering business with the compilation of a specialised electronic German-English, English-German dictionary and with various other language-related tasks such as proofreading and editing. The work included different projects between 2001 and 2008 (6 months in-house, then as a freelancer).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since then I have translated and proofread texts from many fields for diverse organisations and in particularly gained experience with specialised texts from the academic discipline of Architecture.

 

I have been teaching students English and German ever since I was about 15 and still at school myself - both in Germany and England. Since then I have come a long way, teaching both children and adults, complete beginners, learners with advanced proficiency and bilingual students (levels A1-C2).

 

In 2009 I moved to England and spent the last 5 years of my life working full-time in retail management. A lot of my free time, however, was dedicated to translations, proofreading and German tuition. Now I have started my own business, Lewis Linguistics, offering these services on a full-time basis.

Marburg an der Lahn

Jasmin Lewis under a mango tree